Introducing JackRabbot

The social navigation Robot

About

Humans have the innate ability to "read" one another. When people walk in a crowed public space such as a sidewalk, an airport terminal, or a shopping mall, they obey a large number of (unwritten) common sense rules and comply with social conventions. For instance, as they consider where to move next, they respect personal space and yield right-of-way. The ability to model these “rules” and use them to understand and predict human motion in complex real world environments is extremely valuable for the next generation of social robots.

Our work at the CVGL is making practical a new generation of autonomous agents that can operate safely alongside humans in dynamic crowded environments such as terminals, malls, or campuses.  This enhanced level of proficiency opens up a broad new range of applications where robots can replace or augment human efforts. One class of tasks now susceptible to automation is the delivery of small items – such as purchased goods, mail, food, tools and documents – via spaces normally reserved for pedestrians.

In this project, we are exploring this opportunity by developing a demonstration platform to make deliveries locally within the Stanford campus.  The Stanford “Jackrabbot”, which takes it name from the nimble yet shy Jackrabbit, is a self-navigating automated electric delivery cart capable of carrying small payloads. In contrast to autonomous cars, which operate on streets and highways, the Jackrabbot is designed to operate in pedestrian spaces, at a maximum speed of five miles per hour.

NEWS & Press release

Team

Silvio Savarese

Assistant Professor
ssilvio@stanford.edu
Web

Amir Sadeghian

PhD Candidate
amirabs@stanford.edu
Web

Patrick Goebel

Research Scientist
pgoebel@stanford.edu
Web

Marynel Vázquez

Postdoctoral Researcher
marynelv@stanford.edu
Web

Michael Abbot

Visiting Scholar
Web

Noriaki Hirose

Visiting Scholar
Toyota Central R&D
hirose@stanford.edu

Zhenkai Wang

Master Student
zackwang@stanford.edu

Junwei Yang

Master Student
agrim@stanford.edu

AGRIM GUPTA

Master Student
agrim@stanford.edu

Hans Magnus Espelund Ewald

Master's Student
hmewald@stanford.edu

Ferdinand Legros

Master's Student
flegros@stanford.edu Web

Xiaoxue Zang

Master's Student
xzang@stanford.edu

Maxime Alexandre Voisin

Master's Student
maximev@cs.stanford.edu

Isabella Phung

Highschool Student
isabellaphung@gmail.com

Miriam Haart

Designership Fellow Web


Alumni

Alexandre Alahi

Assistant Professor EPFL
alexandre.alahi at epfl dot ch
Web

Alexander Robicquet

Master's Student
arobicqu@stanford.edu

Chris Cruise

Master's Student
ccruise@stanford.edu

VIGNESH RAMANATHAN

Research Scientist
Facebook
vigneshram.iitkgp@gmail.com

Lin Sun

Visiting Student
Stanford
PhD Candidate, HKUST
sunlin1@stanford.edu 

Publication

Dataset and Code

JR life


JR at the dressing room!


JR ready for California winter!


JR suit up!


JR in red!

Related videos


JR on Quartz!


JR on CBS!


JR's view!


JR on PBS!


JR on Financial Times!

JR on ABC!

JR on BBC News!

Acknowledgements

We acknowledge the support of ONR, MURI, Toyota and Panasonic.

Contact : amirabs@stanford.edu
Last update : 10/24/2017